Tags

, ,

The third Sunday of May is observed as Father’s Day in North America – a holiday which focuses attention on the role of fathers in our society. Father’s Day is also be observed across the world at different times of the year – as a celebration honoring fathers and celebrating fatherhood, paternal bonds, and the influence of fathers in society.

In May, we had discussed the role of mothers in our lives and our roles as “mothers” in the lives of those we influence in a mothering role. So, it is only appropriate that we honor the role of fathers and fathering in a similar manner. The discussion in May had brought to light the nature of our complex relationships with the mother figures in our lives. I imagine that any relationships with our fathers, and our roles as fathers, also come with built-in complexity.

The role of “fathers” goes beyond mere biology (and perhaps even beyond the “male”) – paternal figures can be relatives, friends, and of course, spiritual guides (or masters). Many religions and their scriptures have very powerful “father” figures who have very high influence and importance through scripture and tradition.

It is not flesh and blood but the heart which makes us fathers and sons (and daughters). ~Johann Schiller

It is indeed a big task to discuss the spiritual influences of our “fathers” on our lives in the span of an hour – perhaps we can initiate a discussion which will carry into the the week. What kind of spiritual influence did your paternal figures have on you? Do you feel that you received a good spiritual inheritance from your “father”? Are you in the role of a paternal figure or influencer for someone? Are you passing on a spiritual legacy to them? How is our spiritual progress influenced by unresolved paternal issues?

I invite you to join us in our weekly #SpiritChat discussion to share your thoughts on “The Spirit of Fathers”. Sunday, June 17th at 9am ET / 1pm GMT / 2pm UK / 6:30pm India. Thank you.

Kumud

P.S. I hope you enjoy your Fathers’ Day, wherever you happen to be. I know I will be remembering mine with fondness.

Update: Here is the html transcript http://bit.ly/sc-tr-0617 and questions – thank you to all who shared in the discussion on Fathers and fatherhood! Some stats – 1183 tweets and 132 contributors. Thank you all!